Caponata

Egg-plants seems to be part of the scary fruit category for most people (at least around me). Personally, I enjoy their sponginess and I do find them very tasty although I don’t risk myself often to buy it…

Lucky for me, this week on TV, I saw the chef Stephano Faita cooking a Caponata (what we can describe as an Italian egg-plant stew). It got me inspired and I did a little research online to find different recipes and to understand the concept. Finally, there I was this afternoon mixing different ingredients together and trying to make this Italian recipe, as well as enjoying taking pictures of the food!

This is how my inspiration turned out:

  • 1/2 of Red onion
  • 1 Garlic clove
  • 1 Egg plan
  • 1 Zucchini
  • 1 Red pepper
  • 1 Tomato
  • a few Cranberry in Port wine (Stephano used dry raisin and Marsala wine)
  • Mint and Parsley
  • Pine nuts
  • Red wine vinegar
  • Capers
  • Salt and pepper
Veggies for the Caponata
Veggies for the Caponata

First, I cooked the onions and garlic in some olive oil for a few minutes. I added the egg plan, zucchini and red pepper cut into dices. I added a little bit of water to help the cooking. After 5-10 min I added the tomato, the nuts, the cranberry, that were soaking into a few tablespoon of Port and the mint and parsley finely chopped. Once the veggies were cook I added about a tablespoon of red wine vinegar and a handful of capers. I served the Caponata on pasta, but it could be served on crouton with some cheese, room temperature, hot or cold.

 

IMG_0534-1
Caponata on pasta

It was so refreshing and tasty, almost made me forget about all the snow we have and reminded me that spring and summer should be coming back soon.

I can’t wait to try it again and perfect the taste with the different ingredients and quantities!

 

I hope you enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

