Curry, don’t worry!

Back to some cooking after a few weeks of laziness! You can guess what was my work schedule like lately… pretty busy! I also had some vacation time, pictures will come soon too!

This is my Saturday night dinner. Great thing, sometime annoying about being a pilot is that the scheduling is certainly not conventional. Planes must fly fly fly!!!

Tonight on the menu folks, we have some Indian/ Pakistani curry. A year ago two of my friends came over to cook and they showed me how they cooked their curry. My apologies, my own curry is probably not very authentic. I looked online and kept inspiring me with different mix of spices as well as trying to remember their North-West Asian techniques.

I really enjoy this kind of recipe because I can just use what ever veggies I have in my fridge that week, and I always keep a can of diced tomatoes around. So it is super easy to improvise and a good way to have lunch for the work days.

Here is what I did.

Ingredients list:

  • 1 onion-chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic-minced
  • 1 inch of fresh ginger root-grated
Spicing things up!
Spicing things up!
Spices:
  • 1 teaspoon of garam massala
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, Pakistani chili powder, turmeric, coriander
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cardamon.
  • 3 tablespoons of curry paste
All the others:
  • 1 can of dice tomatoes
  • 1-2 cups of water
  • 3 chicken breast cut in small pieces
  • 2 carrots
  • 3 old potatoes
  • 2 sticks of celery
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 2 tablespoons of tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup of 35% creme (it was just sitting in my fridge… like the old potatoes)

Method:

I first cooked the onions in some oil for around 5 minutes on medium high heat.

Onions
Onions

I added all the spices and cooked about 2 min before adding the can of tomatoes.

Spices and Tomatoes
Spices and Tomatoes

After it came to a boil, I added the chicken, all the veggies and some water enough to cover all the food.

I let everything simmer for about 30 to 45 min. Adding the tomato paste half way through. Also to help thicken the sauce I removed some potatoes and mashed them on a plate and put them back in the sauce.

Curry
Curry

It was ready when I confirmed the chicken was all cooked and I got the texture sauce I liked. I finally added the cream… like I said just because it was sitting in the fridge and I had nothing else to do with it.

I served the curry with rice and my favorite yogurt cilantro sauce.

  • Plain thick yogurt
  • chopped fresh cilantro
  • lime juice
Yogurt, cilantro and lime
Yogurt, cilantro and lime

Quantities as you wish, I just put a lot of cilantro and about a teaspoon of lime juice for maybe 1/3 of a cup of yogurt.

Hope you enjoy, we certainly did!

IMG_1518-11
Empty plates!
2 thoughts on “Curry, don’t worry!”

Leave a Reply

