Amaz’n Bajan Jerk Pork

My friend is famous for her Jerk pork recipe! Last time she came over I took notes of what she was doing and I asked a few more questions about the local tricks for the best jerk meat. If I remember right, the jerk spices where put together to help the meat become more tender. Any fan of spicy food will love it!

Ingredients needed
  • 1 onion minced
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 inch of ginger root grated
  • 1 or 2 Habanero pepper (I didn’t have any today)
  • 1 teaspoon of all spice
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cloves powder
  • Half a lime juice
  • 1/8 of a cup of orange juice
  • 1 tablespoon of sugar
  • 1/4 cup of jerk spice
  • Fresh Thyme
  • 1 or 2 lbs of meat (Pork shoulder is the best)
Method

Make incisions into the meat and add the rub the mixture on it and inside. Let marinated as long as you want to get the flavors mix (4 hours in my case).

Marinating the meat
Marinating the meat

I cooked the meat in a thin foil on the BBQ to avoid it from burning. I placed the meat directly on the grill for the last 5 min on each side. You could also cook it in the oven at 350 F, the time would depend on the size of the piece of meat you got.

I made a spinach salad with corn, cucumber and mango on the side, as well as sweet potatoes fried on the BBQ.

Voilà!!!
Voilà!!!

I hope it old up to her standards. I will have to re-invite her over for more Bajan cooking and I will try to learn something new to share on the blog!

2 thoughts on “Amaz’n Bajan Jerk Pork”

Leave a Reply

