Couscous Salad, Just Cuz’

Light and flavorful, I enjoy making couscous salad as a side dish because it leaves room for my imagination. I can put together a different salad every time. Last week, I was so surprised how tasty it turned out, I though I should share it.

Couscous salad and chickpeas pita
Couscous salad and chickpeas pita

I used 1/2 cup of dry couscous that I cooked in a bowl with the same amount of boiling water and I placed a plate on top for about 5 min. I than added about 2 tablespoons of orange juice (small flavor trick I saw in a cooking show once).

Ingredients in the salad:

a used a handful of each following ingredients (about 1/3 cup) of

  • Red onion,
  • Celery,
  • Pepper,
  • Cucumber, and
  • Feta cheese

all cut in small cubes. You can really used what ever you like in a salad, or improvise with what you have in your fridge!

I added about

  • 2 tablespoons of Plain yogurt.
    • I totally love the Balkian yogurt by Astro.
    • It also seems more healthy than using only mayonnaise 
  • 1 tablespoon of Mayonaise
  • 1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard
  • 1 tablespoon of red vinegar
  • Fresh thyme and cilantro
  • salt and pepper

Don’t be shy to taste and re adjust the quantities, I did not measured the ingredients accurately.

For the curious of you, on the picture, beside the salad is a chick peas salad on a pita from the blog Trois fois par jour. Here is the link to the recipe. 

 

Leave a Reply

